Numerous coronavirus restrictions were lifted. The CoronaMelder app has been greatly reduced in its utility. Although the app is no longer available, it can still downloaded. The app doesn’t track interactions with other people. After you are near someone with corona, you will not be notified. CoronaMelder could be activated again if a new coronavirus variant emerges in the future.
CoronaMelder, the official Dutch coronavirus notification application, was developed under the supervision of the Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sport. The app digitally assists the Municipal Public Health Service (GGD) in their source and contact research.
After you have been in close proximity to someone with coronavirus, the app will warn you. This way you can protect yourself as well as the people around. We can also keep The Netherlands’s infection rate as low as possible. This app can only be used by you. It is not permitted for anyone to verify that you have the app installed on your phone. The app works better if more people use it.
We considered accessibility when developing this app. For more information, please see our accessibility statement.
What is the working principle of the app?
#You can only access your Bluetooth data
CoronaMelder uses Bluetooth for location data. The app does not collect any personal data or location data. The app does not know your identity, location or the people you have met.
#Notifications are sent to you if there is a greater risk of infection.
When you are within 15 minutes of someone who turns out to be corona, the app will send you a notification. The app must also be used by the person.
#You can alert others if your symptoms are severe
Did you get tested by the GGD for coronavirus and confirmed to be positive? You can then use the GGD to notify people who were close to you during your contagious period. The notification will only inform them if they were infected. This notification does not indicate that you were infected or that they were within close proximity to you.
What happens to your data when you use the app?
* You don’t need to provide any personal information such as your name or email address.
* Bluetooth is used to exchange random codes between your phones when you meet another person. This is how the app calculates distance and the duration of your encounter. These codes do not contain any information about you or whereabouts.
* Bluetooth codes are not saved on your phone. They are automatically deleted after 14-days.
* The app developers or the government cannot trace app users.